Current ARES Districts

Presently, there are thirteen districts within five regions that make up the Kentucky Amateur Radio Emergency Service (KY ARES®) with Region 5, consisting of Districts 11, 12 and 13. (See map above.) District 11 counties include Bell, Clay, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, McCreary, Rockcastle, and Whitley. District 12 has Adair, Boyle, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Lincoln, Mercer, Pulaski, Russell, and Wayne counties. District 13 consists of Bourbon, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Madison, Nicholas, Powell and Woodford counties.

KY SEC Ron Goodpaster/AG4TY, working with our DECs and ASECs, or Region ECs, have developed and planned for KY ARES® to realign its current districting to match the state EM area districts throughout the state to keep our system current with KY EMA. This change will take place on September 1, 2018.

Why the change?

This realignment will enable DECs to work more closely with a single KYEM Area Manager in providing auxiliary communications support through amateur radio and will act as a bridge between local emergency management organizations of each area office and the state EMA in Frankfort.

What does this mean for KY ARES?

What this means is that many counties will be realigned from the current thirteen districts into ten. For example, in District 11, McCreary and Rockcastle counties will move to the new KY ARES District 10. The remaining counties of Bell, Clay, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, and Whitley will join Estill, Madison, and Powell counties from District 13 as well as Harlan, Lee, and Owsley counties from District 10 to form the new KY ARES District 9. Other counties within the Commonwealth will be similarly re-aligned to match KYEM area offices (see map below).

KYARES New Map, eff. 9-2018

ARES Districts, effective September 1, 2018, will coincide with KYEM Area Offices

Information regarding this change for both ARES members and amateurs interested in joining ARES in the new Kentucky District 9, should contact their respective county ARES Emergency Coordinator (EC) or Official Emergency Station (OES) for more information. Their information, current as of August 18, 2018, is listed below:

Emergency Coordinator Name & Callsign Phone Number E-mail
Bell County Position vacant
Clay County (AEC) Bruce Smith/KS4WM (606) 598-4668
Estill County Position vacant
Harlan County Position vacant
Jackson County Position vacant
Knox County (EC) Bruce Cory/KM4VHI (440) 227-0035
Laurel County (EC) Ed Lemley/K4XXX (304) 712-5122
Lee County Position vacant
Madison County (EC) Glenn Foley/KO4OL (859) 623-1139
Madison County (OES) William Hicks/KG4ZXN (859) 979-2947
Owsley County Position vacant
Powell County (EC) Kenneth Howard/KY4KH (606) 481-8659
Whitley County Position vacant



Field Day 2018 Photos

These are just some of the many photos taken by club members at St. John’s Community Park for Field Day 2018. Everyone who was there had a great time. (Courtesy of KB9LXH)

Great ShakeOut Earthquake Drill

The Southeast Kentucky Amateur Radio Club (SEKARC) in London is registered for the Great Shake-Out Earthquake Drill this Thursday, 10/19 at 10:19 am! JOIN US in practicing Drop, Cover, and Hold On. Go to to learn more and to register.

As participants in this event, SEKARC and KY ARES District 11 will conduct an ARES exercise net immediately after the drill. This net will be held on the KG4LKY Pilot Mountain repeater on 146.925 MHz (-) PL 79.7 Hz with the KE4GJG Raccoon Mountain repeater on 147.180 MHz (+) PL 74.4 Hz as our back-up net frequency. Additional links to these repeaters through All-Star, IRLP and/or Echolink may be available. All amateur radio operators in the listening area are invited and encouraged to check-in and participate in this exercise.

For more information about SEKARC go to or checkout their Facebook page at


Joseph Warren – KB9LXH
Assistant District Emergency Coordinator
KY ARES District 11 – Region 5
Cell/Text: (502) 785-8942

Serving and supporting Amateur Radio Emergency Service groups in
Bell, Clay, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, McCreary, Rockcastle and Whitley counties