Ham Radio Licensing Exam Schedule


examWe are excited to announce our club schedule for amateur radio licensing exams:

  • 04/14/2018 | London KY 40741-2202

    Sponsor: Southeast Kentucky ARC
    Location: Laurel Cty Emer Operations Ctr
    Time: 1:00 PM (Walk-ins allowed)
    Learn More

  • 06/09/2018 | Corbin KY 40701

    Sponsor: Southeast Kentucky ARC
    Location: St. John’s Episcopal Church Fellowship Hall
    Time: 9:00 AM (Walk-ins allowed)
    Learn More

  • 08/11/2018 | Corbin KY 40701

    Sponsor: Southeast Kentucky ARC
    Location: St. John’s Episcopal Church Fellowship Hall
    Time: 1:00 PM (Walk-ins allowed)
    Learn More

  • 12/08/2018 | Corbin KY 40701

    Sponsor: Southeast Kentucky ARC
    Location: St. John’s Episcopal Church Fellowship Hall
    Time: 1:00 PM (Walk-ins allowed)
    Learn More


Club meeting Monday!


Our September club meeting is this Monday, Sept. 10, at 6:00 pm. The meeting will take place at the St. John’s Episcopal Church Fellowship Hall, 701 Engineer St., Corbin, KY.



Current ARES Districts

Presently, there are thirteen districts within five regions that make up the Kentucky Amateur Radio Emergency Service (KY ARES®) with Region 5, consisting of Districts 11, 12 and 13. (See map above.) District 11 counties include Bell, Clay, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, McCreary, Rockcastle, and Whitley. District 12 has Adair, Boyle, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Lincoln, Mercer, Pulaski, Russell, and Wayne counties. District 13 consists of Bourbon, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Madison, Nicholas, Powell and Woodford counties.

KY SEC Ron Goodpaster/AG4TY, working with our DECs and ASECs, or Region ECs, have developed and planned for KY ARES® to realign its current districting to match the state EM area districts throughout the state to keep our system current with KY EMA. This change will take place on September 1, 2018.

Why the change?

This realignment will enable DECs to work more closely with a single KYEM Area Manager in providing auxiliary communications support through amateur radio and will act as a bridge between local emergency management organizations of each area office and the state EMA in Frankfort.

What does this mean for KY ARES?

What this means is that many counties will be realigned from the current thirteen districts into ten. For example, in District 11, McCreary and Rockcastle counties will move to the new KY ARES District 10. The remaining counties of Bell, Clay, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, and Whitley will join Estill, Madison, and Powell counties from District 13 as well as Harlan, Lee, and Owsley counties from District 10 to form the new KY ARES District 9. Other counties within the Commonwealth will be similarly re-aligned to match KYEM area offices (see map below).

KYARES New Map, eff. 9-2018

ARES Districts, effective September 1, 2018, will coincide with KYEM Area Offices

Information regarding this change for both ARES members and amateurs interested in joining ARES in the new Kentucky District 9, should contact their respective county ARES Emergency Coordinator (EC) or Official Emergency Station (OES) for more information. Their information, current as of August 18, 2018, is listed below:

Emergency Coordinator Name & Callsign Phone Number E-mail
Bell County Position vacant
Clay County (AEC) Bruce Smith/KS4WM (606) 598-4668 smithbr92@gmail.com
Estill County Position vacant
Harlan County Position vacant
Jackson County Position vacant
Knox County (EC) Bruce Cory/KM4VHI (440) 227-0035 km4vhi@arrl.net
Laurel County (EC) Ed Lemley/K4XXX (304) 712-5122 res510cue@gmail.com
Lee County Position vacant
Madison County (EC) Glenn Foley/KO4OL (859) 623-1139 glennfoley@bellsouth.net
Madison County (OES) William Hicks/KG4ZXN (859) 979-2947 smoke744@adelphia.net
Owsley County Position vacant
Powell County (EC) Kenneth Howard/KY4KH (606) 481-8659 ky4kh@yahoo.com
Whitley County Position vacant


SEKYARC Field Day Concluded!

2018 Field Day BLUE T Shirt Front Color Flattened copyThank you to everyone who participated with the Southeast Kentucky Amateur Radio Club in the 2018 ARRL Field Day exercise.

In particular we wish to thank those who spent the day at St. John’s Episcopal Church Park operating under the club call sign (KN4NEL): Adam Angel (KK4MJZ), Joe Warren (KB9LXH), Penny Ferguson (KN4IMM), Ron Deaton (KN4IML), Bruce Cory (KM4VHI), and Jim Russell (N4ICU).

Also many thanks for the club members and other interested persons who visited throughout the day.

We didn’t make many radio contacts, but we did learn a lot about what works and doesn’t work on field day (in particular I, KM4VHI, learned my “portable” antenna is not as reliable as advertised)! Because those of us who were there for the day had other commitments and could not stay the night (though KK4MJZ had his camper all ready!), we closed down the site at 10:00 pm. Hopefully next year we can have more participation and better coverage for the entire 24 hour period.

73s to all!

Field Day set up

Hopefully everyone received word by now that set up for Field Day 2018 will take place tomorrow morning. All club members who are participating are asked to arrive at St. John’s Episcopal Church Park at 7 AM. Send any questions you have to the club’s vice-president, Joe Warren, kb9lxh@arrl.net and we look forward to seeing you there.

Field Day June 23-24


Field Day is this weekend. The “official” start to Field Day is 2:00 pm Saturday, June 23, and runs until 9:00 pm Sunday, June 24. I believe the club will be participating from 2:00 pm Saturday through 2:00 pm Sunday. We will be “debuting” our club call sign, KN4NEL for Field Day. Official information about Field Day can be found at http://www.arrl.org/field-day

The club will be participating in Field Day at St. John’s Episcopal Church Park on 701 Engineer St., Corbin, KY. Contact Joe Warren (kb9lxh @ arrl.net) for more information.

Facebook GROUP and Twitter

twitter_facebook1A new Facebook Group has been created for the club. The page is good for making announcements, but for conversation a group seems to work better. To join the group, please visit https://www.facebook.com/groups/1699888293421515/ or search for the Southeast Kentucky Amateur Radio Club under Facebook groups.

A Twitter account has also been created for the club. You can follow the Twitter account at @sekyarc or https://twitter.com/sekyarc